Friday, July 23, 2010

One day left to vote!

Vote or drop a comment with any changes you'd like to see! I'll announce the changes Monday!

Have an awesome weekend, everybody!


Thursday, July 22, 2010

Review: Blue Moon by Alyson Noel

{Title:} BLUE MOON (The Immortals, Book 2)
{By:} Alyson Noel
{Publisher:} St. Martin's Griffin
{Release Date:} July 7, 2009
{Pages:} 304
Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him. As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.
Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical dimension of Summerland, uncovering not only the secrets of Damen’s past—the brutal, tortured history he hoped to keep hidden—but also an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding her only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family from the accident that claimed them—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker each day...
I fell in love with Evermore and couldn't wait to immediately dive into the pages of BLUE MOON. But, as I always am with series books -- I was also weary. Sometimes sequels don't live up to my expectations.
However, BLUE MOON not only met but surpassed what I expected of it. My favorite characters stayed true to their natures (well, except for a twist I don't wanna reveal.) Even the not-so-important-but-still-memorable Miles and Haven. And speaking of characters -- after the exit of the Big Bad from the series in Evermore, there of course needed to be a new, even more powerful character to draw our intrigue. Enter Roman, gorgeous bad boy with an accent. There's something about Roman that Ever doesn't trust. But she can't see the tattoo of the Rogue Immortals on him, so she can't figure out exactly what it is about him.
But even then, when Ever's life begins to turn upside down, she knows that somehow Roman is behind it.
Personally, I adore Roman and think he really adds to the series as a character -- good, bad, mediocre. Whatever. He's made an impression. I love the interaction between him and other characters -- especially Ever.
And once Ever learns who Roman REALLY is... things only get more interesting.
I love that Ever must stand mostly on her on in this. A HUGE pet peeve of mine is when a good strong main character abandons the strength the used to have solo only because they're with someone. I also adore even more art history references, making me a happy girl. =]
So, all in all, Blue Moon stands true to the series and makes me love it even more. If you're a fan of Evermore -- fear not, the sequel doesn't disappoint.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

CRAVING... To Read: GUARDIAN OF THE GATE by Michelle Zink


The ultimate battle between sisters is nearing, and its outcome could have catastrophic consequences. As sixteen year-old Lia Milthorpe searches for a way to end the prophecy, her twin sister Alice hones the skills she'll need to defeat Lia. Alice will stop at nothing to reclaim her sister's role in the prophecy, and that's not the only thing she wants: There's also Lia's boyfriend James.
Lia and Alice always knew the Prophecy would turn those closest to them against them. But they didn't know what betrayal could lead them to do. In the end, only one sister will be left standing.


Mmmm... I love Michelle Zink, as well as her first novel, PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS. So, of course I look forward to the next installment in the series. I'm digging this description and the fact that it makes me hunger for the day I can snatch it up and devour it. Plus, you gotta love that cover!

Anyone else looking forward to this one?


Monday, July 19, 2010

Spreading the Word: PAYA

So, one of the things I love about the internet is being able to connect with great people. One of the dearest friends I've made online is my friend Harmony (Note: This is her blogger name, since I don't want to release her actual name.)

Harmony is a fellow Book Blogger (or Reviewer, if you will) and writer, as well as an incredible critique partner of yours truly. It's safe to say this girl is seriously a book lover. And she decided to share this love with others in her state by starting PAYA: Bringing YA to PA, a nonprofit organization with the mission of getting more YA (Young Adult) books to the libraries in PA.

PAYA seems to be working on smaller projects all the time, with auctions and bake sales to raise money for libraries in PA. But the BIG event is this August:

Press Release:

PAYA: Bringing YA to PA is an organization started by blogger Harmony of Harmony Book Reviews. It's dedicated to raising money and collecting books for libraries across the state of Pennsylvania. Since its beginning in October of 2009, PAYA has raised over $1,000 and collected hundreds of books for libraries across the state of Pennsylvania.

PAYA's main fundraiser is an annual one-day festival. This year it will be held in West Chester, Pennsylvania on August 21st. It will feature over 15 authors, including Amy Brecount White, Stephanie Kuehnert, Jeri Smith-Ready, Josh Berk, Jon Skovron, Jennifer Hubbard, Shannon Delany, and more. The signing will run from 1pm-3pm. Books will be sold by Children's Book World from Haverford, PA. The festival will also feature two writing workshops, one aimed directly at teens and another at any aspiring writer. Fundraisers such as a basket raffle and used book sale will be held during the signing as well. More information about the festival can be found here (

PAYA is currently accepting monetary and book donations, both of which will be used to support Pennsylvania libraries. Librarians interested in receiving funds or books from PAYA and authors interested in attending the festival should email bringya2pa[at]yahoo[dot]com.

PAYA website -
PAYA fanpage -!/pages/PAYA-Bringing-YA-to-PA/135556373131694?ref=ts
PAYA Facebook Group -!/group.php?gid=106673276030880&ref=ts
PAYA Event Page -!/event.php?eid=134941879871106&ref=ts


Harmony ROCKS! And I was so excited about this project, I convinced my mom to let me head up to PA for the event. Unfortunately for me, with all my procedures and this suckish infection making me sick, I am pretty sure I don't get to attend. BUT, I can do my very best to promote the hell out of it! I'm hoping I'll be able to attend next year, and possibly even help out some.

So, check out the PAYA site, do what you can to help and spread the word, and if you can -- attend the PAYA Festival and meet incredible authors. I know I envy everyone that gets to go!


Friday, July 16, 2010

A Book by It's Cover(s): Prophecy of the Sisters

I love seeing the changes in covers that some books get. A lot of the time, it does wonders for the author and for the sales of the book itself. And as I've noticed this, I've also found myself wanting to make some posts about some of my favorite or some of the most recent changes. For instance...
The gifted author, Michelle Zink, has already undergone a change with the cover of her incredible debut gothic novel, PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS.

+ The ARC cover:

+ The First Edition Cover:
+ The Newest Cover:
Now, personally, I have the first two versions myself ( the ARC and the hardback first edition.) But I do adore the new cover, and find myself tempted to add it to the collection. I'm very glad the ARC cover changed, because I wasn't all that fond of it. And I love the first edition cover, the mysterious appeal of the twin statues and the rose -- plus, there's something almost... unsettling about it, which I found to be an ideal fit with the gothic theme. But the newest cover is rather stunning, and showcases the sisters for us. It has a nice composition to it, still holds some mystery about it, and will probably draw more appeal to more readers with this fresher cover. I definitely don't see this as a bad cover upgrade.
And, no matter what cover it has, I still say you need to rush out and get yourself a copy of Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink. She's extremely gifted, not to mention a wonderful woman all around.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Review: EVERMORE by Alyson Noel


{Title:} EVERMORE (The Immortals, Book One)

{By:} Alyson Noel

{Publisher:} St. Martin's Griffin

{Release Date:} February 3rd, 2009

{Pages:} 320


Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, Ever can see auras, hear people's thoughts, and know a person's entire life story by touch. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen.
Damen Auguste is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy. He's the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head—wielding a magic so intense, it's as though he can see straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she's left with more questions than answers. She has no idea just who he really is—or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is she's falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.


I was a little unsure about the first book in the Immortals series by Alyson Noel entitled EVERMORE. I heard a mixture of things about it -- I heard it was INCREDIBLE, and hard to put down. And then I also caught word it was a "rip off" of Stephenie Meyer's TWILIGHT. That bit of news particularly bothered me, since I'm definitely NOT a fan of Ms. Meyer or her work, especially after I met her in person some time after New Moon came out and found she was VERY disrespectful to her fans. But ANYWAY, back to EVERMORE. I decided to get it over with, moved it up on my To Be Read pile, and purchased each installment as they came out.

And I am SO glad that I did!

EVERMORE is a unique take on life, weaving fantasy and reality beautifully by integrating aspects of various religions/spirituality/beliefs/customs/etc. with history and the modern day. There isn't some insane suspension of disbelief, which a a bit refreshing for a more supernaturally themed novel. Don't get me wrong, I love my crazy out there books too, but this particular book really entertained me with how easily she made it all flow together.

Alyson Noel gives a great cast of characters to go along with the already intriguing storyline. Each are memorable and unique, from the curious Ever with her psychic abilities, to the dashing and mysterious Damen, and especially Ever's best friends -- two misfits, Miles and Haven. Not to mention, Ever's lovable (and dead) little sister Riley.

Another thing I personally enjoyed in this series in general has been the art history references. I don't recall if they are AS prominent in EVERMORE, but I know it definitely is in BLUE MOON, SHADOWLAND, and the newest -- DARK FLAME. And, seeing as I'm an Art Major in college, one that really loves her Art History courses, I love reading the references and know exactly the artist or piece being referred to. I feel like earing an A in History of Art I and II is paying off in my everyday life.

EVERMORE is the sort of book I enjoy reading -- the kind that stands out from everything else out there -- no matter what some people may think. EVERMORE is the sort of book that delights me in the fact that once I think I have everything all figured out, I end up being proven completely wrong and left speechless.

So, head out and pick up Alyson Noel's EVERMORE. You won't regret it.
And stay tuned for my reviews of the next three books in the IMMORTALS series.


Wednesday, July 14, 2010

CRAVING...To Read: Love Bites by Ellen Schreiber


As a mortal girl dating a vampire, Raven knows that love isn't always easy. Now that Alexander's parents have returned to Romania, Raven and her dreamy vampire boyfriend are happy to resume their cryptic romance.
But soon another visitor comes knocking: Sebastian, Alexander's best friend, arrives for a stay at the mansion. At first Raven is wary, then thrilled—this is the perfect chance to learn more about her darkly handsome boyfriend and his past. Raven has been wondering whether Alexander will ever bite her and make their love immortal, and Sebastian could be her guide to the love habits of Alexander and his kind. But when Sebastian falls for a particular Dullsvillian, will another mortal beat Raven to the bite?
With suspense, danger, and a fabulous vampire party, this seventh book in the bestselling Vampire Kisses series continues the exciting nocturnal romance of Raven and Alexander.

{My Thoughts}

I'm a HUUUUUGE Vampire Kisses fan, and absolutely adore Ellen Schreiber. And after reading the sixth book in the VK series, ROYAL BLOOD, I'm dying to get my hands on LOVE BITES! Plus, I'm in LOVE with the new covers for the books. Not that I didn't love the older covers, cause I did. But these new ones.. they're just GORE-geous.

P.S. Keep an eye out for my review of all of the Vampire Kisses books here in a few weeks!


Monday, July 12, 2010

Never Fear

So, with this insanely horrible infection I've had that's made me pretty sick, I'm a bit off schedule. But, never fear! I'll be attempting to continue forward this week. The only day I MIGHT drop off the radar is on Tuesday (tomorrow) because I'm having my second of three procedures to try and make me all better vs. dying. The third procedure is next Tuesday, so expect me to possibly disappear then, too, unless I manage to get online and write a semi-decent post.


Before I forget -- you've still got a little less than two weeks to vote on the poll (side bar to the right) for what YOU would like to see added to the blog. It's your chance to have some say in the changes. =]

So, the schedule I've got planned for the posts this week..:

+ Monday: Obviously, this post.

+ Tuesday: Probably won't be posting.

+ Wednesday: Craving to Read - my own take on Wanting On Wednesday.

+ Thursday: Review

+ Friday: Preview of what may be coming.

How's that for a line up? Not too awesome, I know. But with how sick I've been, plus the procedures, it's a little hard to push myself a whole lot. So bear with me, folks. I'm not dead, and don't plan to be anytime soon.


Thursday, July 1, 2010

Braaaaains! ...grr..rawr.

Like a zombie fresh out of the grave, I have returned to you, my loyal readers!

Okay, I'm not a zombie or anything. (Which doesn't explain this weird craving for brains. Hm.) I've just been suffering from my computer being down, followed by college finals, followed by medical junk. BUT -- I've been at work all the same, though I haven't been able to post. I've got several reviews lined up, Wanting On Wednesday's to post, and more goodies to share. So stay tuned, folks. The blog is about to revive, with more life than ever!

As you can see, it's already undergone it's first bit of change - a makeover! You like? I felt like the blog was a little Blah, and didn't quite show much in terms of personality and uniqueness. But that's changing up as we speak.

So, do you guys have any input? Any features you'd like to see more of? Or maybe features I don't already have, but you'd like to see? Just drop me a line in the comments and I'll see what I can do!

I crave your opinion, just as I crave those tasty, tasty brains. (Nom, nom, nom..)

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

In My Mailbox (4)

Smut Saga, Volume 2.
by Gori Suture

Theatre Illuminata, Act II.
by Lisa Mantchev
Release Date: May 25th, 2010

Act Two, Scene One
Growing up in the enchanted Thèâtre Illuminata, Beatrice Shakespeare Smith learned everything about every play ever written. She knew the Players and their parts, but she didn’t know that she, too, had magic. Now, she is the Mistress of Revels, the Teller of Tales, and determined to follow her stars. She is ready for the outside world.


Monday, February 1, 2010

Women In Horror Month

I've loved the horror genre since I was a little girl. In fact, by sixth grade, I had my middle school locker adorned with screenshots of Freddy, Michael, and Jason. Of course everyone thought I was a bit of an -*ahem*- freak, because I was born and raised in small town Missouri, where being much different than anyone tends to stir trouble for you. But I paraded about in my Halloween shirt and spiral-bound notebooks filled with my own terrible yet twisted tales all the same.
Something I noticed, however, was that I got a lot of crap about watching horror (and NOT doing so just to go with my "boyfriend", get scared, and bury my face in his arms), while the guys of any social click or standing could watch them avidly and no one really cared. Why were girls getting thrown into a different titles -- normal, if they flinched and got grossed out; or a freak, if their eyes light up and a smile arises from a creative decapitation.

Around a year ago, I stumbled upon Ax Wound Zine, a delightful breath of fresh air in the horrow community. Ax Wound Zine: Gender in the Horror Genre is a zine dedicated to the mission of bringing attention to the women of the horror community. Founder and Editor, Hannah Forman, says this about her mission with Ax Wound:

"It is my hope that “Ax Wound” will create a dialogue about gender in the horror/slasher/gore genre — a genre typically thought to reinforce patriarchal values. I want both the zine and the website to provide a safe, stimulating environment for feminists who struggle with their enjoyment of these films, and a place to explore what these films are about, and why we love them so much."

Ax Wound has caught some impressive attention:

"Ax Wound is my favorite critical horror magazine. The articles are intelligent, funny, insightful, and incredibly entertaining. These girls know their gore, and they make you want to re-watch all your favorite films with a whole new perspective. I love it and highly recommend it to any horror fan."
- Eli Roth (Hostel, Cabin Fever)

Not too long ago, Hannah created a manifesto for Women in Horror Month, and why we should make it February. I've been charmed by Ax Wound and the small bits of work I've had with Hannah, and just how comforting it is to know about all these people welcoming women with open arms in the horror community. So, of course, when she asked people to start reposting the manifesto and spread the word about Women in Horror Month, I was eager to help.

The link above will take you to the Ax Wound site and, specifically, the post Hannah made on Women in Horror. But I've wanted to do more than just post a link and a random blog. It's my hope to post a few blogs this month about women and their contributions to the horror industry. So, even though the entire blog itself won't be dedicated to only Women in Horror Month, there will be a few extra posts -- or so I hope -- to keep spreading the love for girls and gore.

So check out Ax Wound Zine and keep an eye out for the newest issue whenever it goes on sale. When I know myself, I'll be sure to post a link.


Thursday, January 21, 2010

Review: Eleventh Grade Burns by Heather Brewer


{Title} Eleventh Grade Burns (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, Book Four)

{By} Heather Brewer

{Publisher} Dutton Juvenile

{Release Date} February 9th, 2010

{Pages} 208


The penultimate chapter in the thrilling vampire series!

Things have taken a darker turn for the half-human teenager with an appetite for blood. Joss, a vampire slayer and Vlad’s former friend, has moved back to Bathory. A mysterious and powerful new vampire, Dorian, appears with a shocking secret and an overwhelming desire to drink Vlad’s blood. And Vlad’s arch enemy, D’Ablo, has a sinister plan to eliminate Vlad once and for all. With death threatening from every angle, Vlad will have to use every ounce of his skill and training to survive, but nothing can prepare him for what awaits him in the end.

[Angel's Thoughts:]

I've been a hardcore Minion (fan of The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod) from the get go. I loved the unique premise of a young outcast male vampire and his struggles through the normal rights of passage in high school -- like bullies, the girl of his dreams, and worrying about the distance that seems to be growing between himself and his ultra-popular best friend, Henry.

And then, there are the not-so-normal things, like the other vampires, the prophecy of the Pravus, and the vampire slayers.

One of my favorite things about this series is that with every book, they just keep getting better. Granted, this trend died a little bit for me, considering Tenth Grade Bleeds is still my favorite at the moment. But Eleventh Grade Burns still has an excellent story that I really enjoyed.
However, and this is more of a personal thing for me that I don't see most of the readers really being bothered by, I think one thing that drew me away a bit were some of the actions of the characters, like Vlad seeming so hopeless at times, so ready to just quit. It's probably just a minor peeve of mine, because I love strong characters that just keep pressing forward. It's logical, and actually more realistic, to see an 11th grade boy react in this way, so it didn't really get to me too much if I reminded myself of that. So long as Vlad doesn't get complete Bella-Swan-Syndrome, I'm still pleased.
Though I love seeing the characters I adore, such as Vlad, of course, or Otis Otis (my faaaaavorite), and seeing the quirks and humor that makes them who they are, I sorta feel like some aren't growing much outside of the main story plot. It might be because I just graduated, and I have a lot of friends still in high school, but some of the kids seem a little... middle school still. There are times I completely disagree with myself, but sometimes I really wonder about whether or not I can focus with that in my mind. Then again, the things most high school kids have on their minds are a tad different considering their lack of fangs, and the books are geared a little more for younger readers as well. So, there are some issues that really wouldn't be appropriate to upgrade Vlad to. So, that's something else that just bugs me, and isn't actually a real issue.
Now, the positives -- not that the other things were more than my personal peeves:
The little things that bothered me, only did so at the beginning, and probably because I had just finished a book in which sex, drugs, cursing, etc all ruled the characters. After I got back into the right setting, I really loved it. I was rather fond the new character, Dorian, as well as the trials and danger Vlad was put through and his developing relationships with the other characters. Not to mention, the plot twisted and turned and left you with an ending that will make every Minion scream in desperate need for Twelfth Grade Kills.
So, really, Eleventh Grade Burns will be a hit with all Minions, and leave them craving more. I know that I certainly can't wait to sink my teeth into the final installment, Twelfth Grade Kills.
If you're a fan of the Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, then this book will be a hit for you. Be sure to check it out this February when it hits shelves!

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Review: Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert


{Title} Ballads of Suburbia
{By} Stephanie Kuehnert
{Publisher} MTV Books
{Release Date} July 21st, 2009
{Pages} 368


Kara hasn't been back to Oak Park since the end of junior year, when a heroin overdose nearly killed her and sirens heralded her exit. Four years later, she returns to face the music. Her life changed forever back in high school: her family disintegrated, she ran around with a whole new crowd of friends, she partied a little too hard, and she fell in love with gorgeous bad-boy Adrian, who left her to die that day in Scoville Park....
Amid the music, the booze, the drugs, and the drama, her friends filled a notebook with heartbreakingly honest confessions of the moments that defined and shattered their young lives. Now, finally, Kara is ready to write her own

[Angel's Thoughts:]

I fell in love with I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone the first time I read it, placing Stephanie Kuehnert on my life of favorite writers ever. Her right to remain on this list was confirmed with her second novel, Ballads of Suburbia.

I've gotta say, I really think I might love Ballads of Suburbia a little more than I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone, mainly because I could really closely relate to Kara, the main character, probably more than any character I've ever read before. She feels real, and that's something I adore about Kuehnert's writing. Both of her books feel like they could be real, either like you're reading a memoir, or you're remembering your past or listening to a friend's story. There were definitely several parts that felt like pieces of my past. I had a few dreams that I was Kara while I was reading it. This book is that powerful. Not to mention, you laugh, cry, and actually get a little depressed once you finish reading it, because you really don't want it to end. Ballads is one of the few books to actually make me cry, and I think it's because of how similar I felt to the main character.

Ballads is right up there with my top favorite books of all time. I've said it a few times, and I'm more than willing to say it again -- Stephanie Kuehnert deserves to be a New York Times Bestseller. She's a talented writer with amazing books, and one of the authors I'll be pushing in a little upcoming project I'm going to be working on. =]

So, head out to your local bookstore or get on Amazon RIGHT NOW and purchase this book. I promise -- you will NOT regret it.


Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Wanting on Wednesday: Gone by Lisa McMann



Janie thought she knew what her future held. And she thought she'd made her peace with it. But she can't handle dragging Cabel down with her.
She knows he will stay with her, despite what she sees in his dreams. He's amazing. And she's a train wreck. Janie sees only one way to give him the life he deserves--she has to disappear. And it's going to kill them both.Then a stranger enters her life--and everything unravels. The future Janie once faced now has an ominous twist, and her choices are more dire than she'd ever thought possible. She alone must decide between the lesser of two evils. And time is running out...

He reaches toward her, his fingers black and bloody, his eyes deranged, unblinking. Janie is paralyzed. His cold hands reach around her neck, squeezing tight, tighter, until Janie has no breath left. She's unable to move, unable to think. As his grasp tightens further around Janie's neck, his face turns sickly alabaster. He strains harder and begins to shake.

Janie is dying.

She has no fight left in her.

It's over.

{Angel's Thoughts:}

I love Lisa McMann's unique writing style, and I love the Wake series thus far. I read my ARC of Wake in one sitting, and read Fade before bed. I simply cannot put these books down until they're done. So, I'm very excited to read third and final installment.

GONE releases February 9, 2010.